Henna – Why You Might Want to Try it

Okay I’ll admit it, I have been coloring my hair with henna for the past year or so.  My hair is brown – and I know what you are saying that there is no such thing as brown henna.  You are right!  I still use a natural product though that is a mix of henna (red), senna (yellow) and indigo (blue), all those beautiful primary colors can be mixed to make different shades of brown.  I’ll just refer to it as henna though from this point on 🙂

2072129816 5013635e20 Having Gray Hair At Young Age

This is Not Me – I don’t Rock-the-Gray Like This Gal… if I Did, There Would Be No Post on Haircolor…

I don’t like to brag but I started getting gray hairs when I was in my twenties… and since now I am turning 29 (for the 8th time), I’ve got some decent salt and pepper going on.

Sucks for me.

ANYways -I had been coloring my hair with L’Oreal for a while… and I really disliked the strong chemical odor and how it made my eyes sting.  I had also heard rumors of hair coloring causing cancer.  So, I went on the Environmental Working Group’s Skin Deep database and found that the color I was buying was very toxic – even among its toxic peers.

Then I saw it  – Light Mountain Color the Gray which was rated completely non-toxic and it was totally affordable (like $8-$10 online) and I decided to go for it.  It worked really well with a natural looking color (without enduring stingey eyes) that covered my gray hairs and also had the added benefit of coating my hair so- I don’t even need to wear hair gel anymore to contain my frizzies.

My Actual Hair All Gloriously Lit Up in the Sunlight.

I’ve gotten application down to a science and here are some of my top tips:

* Put newspapers down on the floor (or old towels) for easy clean-up.

* Make sure and put vaseline (or another type of oil) liberally along your hairline and a few inches or so out from it.

* Even though you will be applying with gloves, put oil or vaseline on your hands and wrists too.

* You don’t have to apply heat (sometimes you just need to go out on a limb to test things out…)

* Use conditioner to help rinse out the henna – for some reason it rinses out much faster

Here are full instructions on how to apply if you are curious.

All Good Experiences? Really??

Well no, henna does smell like hay – and not in a fresh field kind of way.  Also, the indigo adds a bitter smell to the hay smell.  Which is okay with me considering the typical hair color smell is pretty rank.

Okay, other issue with Henna is that every time I apply it, I seem to get a headache.  This could be from all of the applying and rinsing and wrapping (color the grey has two applications).  Also, I have other headache triggers so I had really been wondering if it was just a coincidence.  However, I did some research online and some people do find it to be a headache trigger.

All in all, henna is a great alternative to chemical hair coloring.  Especially if you are not headache prone (like me).  I may need to decide if I can put up with the headache after application or if I need to consult the Environmental Working Group Skin Deep Cosmetics Database for another suitable alternative.

Have you tried Henna?  Are you looking for a change from your chemical haircolor?  What has been your experience?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ginny Massie
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 23:56:07

    Yes, I HAVE been thinking of finding an alternative to the chemical hair color I typically use at home. Thanks for this post, I will try Henna hair coloring soon!

    Reply

  2. Green Janie
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 00:08:54

    Cool Ginny! Let me know how it works out for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

