How Low Can I Go With My Thermostat?

It’s that time again – time to start thinking about when to turn the furnace on. We usually like to hold out until October which is… tomorrow 🙂 It’s definitely fall in New England, the trees are turning color, the pears on our pear tree are ready for picking, the air is crisp…

…and its getting pretty stinkin’ cold in our house.

We used to set the thermostat in cold weather to 68-70 deg F and that was definitely comfortable. But… sometimes we were hanging around the house in tee shirts and even the girls (when young) would sometimes be comfortable in just their diapers.

One day, it occurred to me that I should put my collection of lovely sweaters to use and see how low could we go with the thermostat.

I was also insprired by a gal that owns a shop in town that said her doctor suggested she keep the thermostat at 60 deg F all the time to prevent her family from getting colds or the flu. I don’t know if I really buy that advice…(comment if it is really a legit thing), but it was a paradigm changer for me nonetheless because that’s the point where I thought… you know, I could go cooler and just wear a sweater.

So, How Low Can You Go?

It turns out that with appropriate cold-weather indoor wear ~ socks (or slippers), long pants and a shirt with a sweater or sweatshirt we can comfortably set the thermostat at 65 deg F. Oh, and I am pretty sensitive actually if it falls below 65 – I can definitely tell when we are on our way to 64 or 63 and I don’t like it, so I think we’re as low as we can go.

What About  at Night?

At night, we let the thermostat slip to 60 deg F- I’m sure there are arguments for going cooler… we’ve thought about it but haven’t done the night-time how low can you go challenge yet.  My excuse for not doing it before was that Megan still slept in a crib without any blankets but I don’t have that excuse anymore now that she’s bigger and in a real bed.  Maybe I will try that and then write a post about it.  It occurred to me that long ago, people would wear hats to bed, I don’t know if I am that hardcore.

With our propane heat costing upwards of $3.00 per gallon, and needing 1-2 tank fills per year,  our heating bill defintiely adds up. So, looks like our how low can you go challenge and our sweaters are saving us some money in the long term.

.
What do you keep your thermostat at during the day? What do you keep it at during nighttime? Would you be willing to try the how low can you go challenge?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John Darrow
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 02:10:56

    Y and I have thermostat wars all the time=) She likes it hotter inside, and It is not a conscience effort on my part, but I enjoy the house on the cooler side. I haven’t touched my thermostat since April, but this is due to the best Summer/Fall I have ever experienced in Seattle. Sixties and sunshine all this week in October? OK, bring it on. It does dip into the 40’s at night, but it does not affect the temperature inside too much yet. I love wearing slippers, sweatpants and hoodies. I accept your challenge Green Janie, and will let you know how low I can go. =)=)=)

    Reply

  2. Green Janie
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 20:40:27

    Right on Johnny D! Now, Y isnt going to hate me for this, is she? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

