DIY Kids Fun Recipe Round-Up

Yes, I’ll admit it…I am totally into Pinterest (yeah, like join the club, right?).  So, I have been pinning fun things to make with or for kids that is also easy on the environment.   These recipes also happen to be quick and easy and made of things that you probably already have in your cupboard (or are easy to find at the grocery store).

Here are my favorites from Pinterest; if you click on the pictures they will bring you to the recipes and instructions.

Sidewalk Paint

Such a simple recipe of just cornstarch, water and food coloring – I’ll plan on trying this one first.  I would imagine that it looks pretty spectacular when it dries.

Pinned Image

Clay Handprints

This one looks like a fun idea for a meaningful Christmas ornament gift for family.  You could even get creative and use make other things with this homemade clay.

Pinned Image

Bubbles!!!

Love this bubble recipe because it uses corn syrup, which is easy to find in the grocery store (compared to glycerin).  Oh and corn syrup is not as evil as high fructose corn syrup, but I’m sure that’s debateable…

Have fun with these ideas!

Do you have any tried and true kid-fun recipes?  Have you tried any of these?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John Darrow
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 02:45:14

    Hey Crunchy Household,

    The sidewalk paint looks like a ton of fun!!!

    Another fun activity for the kiddos is to make homemade ice cream from coffee cans (or any left over cans with lids). I did this a few times at Peter Kirk Elementary as a youngin’, and it was a blast.

    You will need:

    -1 1-pound coffee can with lid
    -1 3-pound coffee can with lid
    -1 pint of half and half (milk can be used instead)
    -1 egg, beaten (optional)
    -1/2 cup sugar
    -1 teaspoon vanilla, 2 tablespoons of chocolate syrup, or 1/4 cup of strawberries
    -Crushed ice
    -Rock salt

    Put the all the ingredients into the small can, except for the crushed ice and and rock salt. Put the lid on, and make sure to secure with duct tape. Place the small can into the big can. Add the rock salt and crushed ice. Place lid onto the big can and, again, secure with duct tape.

    Now here comes the fun part…

    Have your kids kick, throw and roll the can until they tire out=) Usually takes about 15-20 minutes.

    Open up the cans and enjoy your homemade ice cream. I think I heard somewhere that Ben and Jerry started their company this exact same way, but I think they have now refined their process by using Oompa Loompas instead of kids =)=)=)

    Reply

    • Green Janie
      Sep 27, 2012 @ 15:16:42

      Hey Johnny D, That’s a good idea – I’ll try that with the girls! I think I have the right size containers for it… I think they would really enjoy it. Oh, yes… Ben and Jerry now use Oompa Loompas to keep cost down, they like to keep it hush hush – that’s why their factory is way up in ‘out there’ Vermont…

      Reply

    • Sherry Darrow
      Oct 08, 2012 @ 15:39:36

      Hey JD! I remember that! So – I think I’ll have to do it with your little neices – I know that ice cream will be all gone in a very short time – especially if chocolate and your sister are around!
      Great memory.

      Reply

  2. Karen Korza
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 13:17:28

    You’re doing an aweome job!

    Reply

  3. Sherry Darrow
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 15:44:12

    I remember making the dough with my children to make Christmas ornaments. After baking, they would paint the ornaments with acrylic paints. I think I may have some of those left. So much fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

