How I Decluttered the Playroom and Saved Money Too

 

Too Embarassed to Post an Actual Picture of my Playroom

So, our house is overflowing with kids toys and kids stuff. My first thought was to buy more shelving or maybe a nice, big cabinet. Then I thought…you know there are probably several items that are for younger kids or babies and that don’t get played with anymore.  I could probably get rid of a lot of this kids stuff.

Also, I thought of how Christmas is coming and we will be welcoming in several more pieces of clutter… uh I mean enriching toys for our children.

So, during a boring meeting at work, I outlined some goals for decluttering – because otherwise I would keep too many things.  It went like this:  Reduce books by 50%, reduce figurines by 30%, reduce stuffed animals by 50% and so on.  Also, I didn’t want to just throw everything in a landfill, I wanted to make sure that things were recycled or donated as applicable.  Yes, it was a really boring meeting and I’m sure some were wondering why I was taking such copious notes on a subject I likely cared nothing about…

Anyways, when I got home I went through the playroom with three bags:

1.   recycling (paper boxes, random unmatched puzzle pieces, plastic containers, anything that is compostable)

2.  donation bin (toys, books and playclothes that are in good enough condition to be resold at the Salvation Army)

3.  trash (what doesn’t fit into the upper two categories)

Then, I went to work sorting through all of the kids stuff and really made some good progress in thinning things out.  Believe it or not, I actually did most of the work with the kids hanging around. I just didn’t tell them what I was up to, that way I didn’t have anyone arguing with me over a toy they haven’t played with for two years. Then I waited until the kids were distracted and then stashed the donations in the basement. 

I learned the hard way that if I leave the bag out where they can find it, they will get ahold of it and ‘rediscover’ all of those toys all over the livingroom floor. Also, I brought the trash bag straight out to the can so that no items were under debate. “Mooooom! Who threw away my frog sticker???”

In the end, I did meet all of my goals for reducing the clutter.  Don’t worry, the kids still have plenty of toys and books.  I feel good about this because I was thinking of buying more storage for all of that stuff.  Now that I have decluttered I don’t need to buy any new storage furniture, it all fits in the spaces we have now.  Also, we are recycling our toys to other kids that might really want to play with them.  Green and cheap, mission accomplished (o;

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherry Darrow
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 17:20:23

    Great blog on getting rid of cloutter – I am 62 and have the same problem with myself! My rules are, if you pull it out (and you need a place or box of related items) for each interest, you must put it back in the same place as soon as you are finished working or playing with it – or you’ll be back looking for that special piece of paper, or brush every time you need it!

    Reply

  2. Iveth
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 01:31:35

    I have two girls so hairbrushes, scrunchies and bows were all over the place before. I bought two pretty boxes and now I keep it all of there.

    Reply

  3. Green Janie
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 20:46:01

    Great idea! I have two girls too, so I know your pain with the hair stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

