My Eight Bars of Kiss-My-Face Natural Soap

Kiss My Face Olive Oil Unscented Bar Soap

Months ago, I decided to upgrade my soap from Lever 2000 which rates as a moderate hazard ~ 4 on the Environmental Working Group Skin Deep website.  I found that the Kiss My Face Olive Oil soap which is a ‘real old-fashioned soap’ has the lowest hazard rating of zero.  So, I decided to upgrade my soap.

Now, because I am a cheapskate I decided to buy the 8 pack to get the best price per bar.  Which seemed like a bright idea until they arrived and realized ‘unscented’ meant that they didn’t add any extra fragrance oils to them.  However, they had a slightly off-putting olive oil derived odor. 

Anyways, long story short (too late) I decided that I would use all of the bars (left after I donated two of them and gave one to my mom) to give them the old college try.  I like knowing that I am using pure soap and I like the rich way that pure soap forms a lather.  However, I really do need something that I also enjoy the smell of (or can’t smell at all).

So, I would still recommend this soap to a friend, I feel good about using a product that has a risk rating in line with plain water.  My only caveat is that I would suggest they buy only one bar to try. 

The next soap I will be trying is Dr. Bronners Magic soap in Peppermint.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dee
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 17:28:04

    I have been using Kiss My Face Soap since the 80’s. The odor does not bother me, and my skin is residue-free.

    Reply

    • Green Janie
      Sep 07, 2012 @ 18:15:43

      That’s awesome Dee – well your skin is beautiful! It is rated very highly on Amazon.com, most reviewers don’t mind the olive scent or like it. Hope you are doing well.

      Reply

  2. Sherry Darrow
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 15:00:18

    Hey! I don’t find the scent offensive at all! As Dee comments above, the soap leaves her face residue-free – and Dee has the prettiest, smoothest, and most elastic skin – it almost glows – so I embarrass her by telling her.

    I had a landlady from Hungary once who made her own soap – took a couple of days. She used lye and mixed it up in either a washing tub or her washing machine. For every batch she made, I was gifted a couple of bars which I kept in a drawer for use at some LATER time. I think that a lot of women made soap from lye. She also hung garlic around her doors and windows and could grow the most amazing roses I’ve ever seen.

    A hint for gardeners? Don’t buy the enzymes, the pearlite, etc. Make your cutting as you should – (pay attention to the nodes and leaf formations) – Then simply make a pencil sized hole in the ground, stick in the stem, and put a mason jar upside down over it – this keeps the cutting warm (in fall and spring), lets the sun get to, and recycles the moisture. Now you have a new rooted plant – no effort! You could use any jar – so recycle your glass jars for cuttings.

    I don’t remember seeing these jars out in the winter –

    Reply

Leave a Reply

